THS State Scholars

Ten students from Teutopolis High School have been selected as Illinois State Scholars. Pictured (left to right) are Cody Jansen, Michael Deters, Michael Fuesting, Rachel Niemerg, Madison Magee, Leah Jansen, Lauren Hemmen, Courtney Hoene, Max Ruholl and Evan Blievernicht.

Teutopolis High School Principal Greg Beck is pleased to announce that 10 students from the Teutopolis High School graduating class of 2018 have been recognized as Illinois State Scholars.
The Illinois Student Assistance Commission (ISAC), the state agency committed to helping make college accessible and affordable for Illinois families, confers this prestigious recognition to top Illinois high school students annually.
This year, more than 20,000 outstanding honorees join the other top students who have been honored for their academic achievements since the designation was first introduced in 1958.
Illinois State Scholars represent approximately the top 10 percent of high school seniors from 738 high schools across the state. Illinois State Scholars possess strong academic potential and are chosen based on a combination of exemplary ACT or SAT test scores and sixth semester class rank.
The following Teutopolis High School students were named 2018-19 Illinois State Scholars – Evan Blievernicht, Michael Deters, Michael Fuesting, Lauren Hemmen, Courtney Hoene, Cody Jansen, Leah Jansen, Madison Magee, Rachel Niemerg and Max Ruholl.
“On behalf of ISAC, I want to congratulate all of this year’s State Scholars for their exceptional work and wish them much success in their future endeavors,” said Eric Zarnikow, ISAC executive director. “Thank you also to the teachers, parents, coaches and other mentors who support our students, inspire them and help them navigate a path to college. You make a tremendous difference not only in our students’ lives, but in improving economic prosperity and building a bright future for our state.”
While the State Scholar recognition does not include a monetary prize, honorees will receive a congratulatory letter from ISAC and personalized Certificates of Achievement. This year, State Scholars will also receive a digital Illinois State Scholar badge, which can be displayed on their online profiles and social media accounts, and shared with high school counselors, prospective colleges, employers, family members and others.
All students, including State Scholars, who plan to be enrolled in college next fall, are urged to complete their 2018-19 Free Application for Federal Student Aid (FAFSA) as soon as possible in order to determine eligibility for federal and state financial aid.
ISAC offers free financial aid and college access events to assist students and families with the college-going process. Students can also visit the ISAC Student Portal for college planning, financial aid and financial literacy information and free tools, as well as information on how to contact the ISACorps, a group of recent college graduates who act as near-peer mentors, for one-on-one assistance and mentoring.
Visit the ISAC Student Portal for more information at