WYSE -- St. Anthony

St. Anthony High School won the 300 division of the Worldwide Youth in Science and Engineering (WYSE) Regional, held at Lake Land College. Bottom row (left to right) are Carly Spraul and McKenna Steineman. Second row are John Hartke, Saidee Bushur, Ava Wegman, Suhyun Moon and Katie Kabbes. Third row are Ethan Rozene, Olivia Clausius, Aidan Bailey and Maryann Saba. Back row are Ian Copple, Bryson Wall, Alex Beesley and Jack Nuxoll.

What happens when you take some of the most brilliant minds from area high schools and put them under one roof?

Nothing other than an academic face off, where teams are pitted against each other in eight subject areas in order to take home the regional Worldwide Youth in Science and Engineering (WYSE) championship title.

Lake Land College recently held the regional WYSE Academic Challenge and 26 schools came together to battle in biology, chemistry, computer science, engineering graphics, English, mathematics and physics.

Students completed written examinations in seven different areas of study. Each student participated in two tests, and the highest scores by members of each team determined the composite team score.

St. Anthony, Paris, and Mattoon high schools were victorious in their divisions and took home the regional championship titles.

Winners in team and individual competition will advance to sectionals at Eastern Illinois University on March 8, 2018.

Teams advancing in the 300 division are St. Anthony High School, Cumberland High School, Okaw Valley High School and Dieterich High School.

Students from Teutopolis and Effingham also competed.


Individual Results

The following individuals will be advancing to the WYSE sectionals at Eastern Illinois University on March 8.


Altamont High School

    Computer Science – Dylan Marble


Beecher City High School

    Chemistry – Lane Robertson


Dieterich High School

Math – Tyler Higgs

Physics – Tyler Higgs


Effingham High School

Biology – Reilly Durham, Frank Rosen

Chemistry – Jacob Sigg, Zoe Bridges

Computer Science – Jeremiah Crowell

Engineering Graphics – Lucas Hanna

English – Rachel Sloss, James Ross

Math – Anastasia Aiasse, Zoe Bridges, Emma Budde, Maria Dust, Rachel Sloss


St. Anthony High School

Biology – Maryann Saba, Alex Beesley, Carly Spraul

Chemistry – Suhyun Moon, Katie Kabbes

Engineering Graphics – Aidan Bailey

Math – Ethan Rozene, Ian Couple

Physics – Ian Couple, Ethan Rozene


Teutopolis High School

Math – Courtney Hoene, Michael Deters

Physics – Michael Deters