News Report Staff

Election filings through eight days produced only one race on the Effingham County Primary ballot for March 20.

Paula G. Miller and Sheila Braun will compete for the Republican nomination for County Treasurer. Steve Dasenbrock, the Democratic incumbent, did not file for the Primary and no other Democrats filed for Treasurer. The filing period started on November 27 and ended on Monday, Dec. 4.

The winner of the Treasurer race in March will determine the party candidate for the general election in November. Write-in candidacies could change the election lineup. In addition, candidates can file after the primary for the general election through the party draft process or as independents.

Incumbents were the only candidates filing for the other countywide offices or county board seats up for election in 2018. Seeking Republican nominations in March will be Sheriff Dave Mahon and County Clerk Kerry Hirtzel. Supervisor of Assessments Pam Braun also filed as a Republican for the Primary.

County Board Chairman Jim Niemann and Board Vice Chairman Dave Campbell are seeking the Republican nod for County Board District B and D respectively. Democratic incumbents Karen Luchtefeld and Doug McCain are also seeking their party nomination for County Board Districts C and D respectively.

There were many precinct committee position filings over the past week, but none created any races in March for those party leadership positions. These positions for each county political party organization are determined by the vote in March.

The precinct committee candidacies include: Kent M. Stuckey, Republican, for Mound Precinct 1; Raymond Rogers, Democrat, Mound 1; Jeff Simpson, Republican, Mound 2; Steve Donaldson, Republican, Liberty; Glen Donaldson, Democrat, Liberty; Paul Kuhns, Republican, Mason; Ed Hoopingarner, Republican, Jackson; Jane A. Willenborg, Republican, Summit 1; David McEvers, Democrat, Summit 1; Mike DePoister, Republican, Summit 3; Shirley J. Moore, Republican, Summit 4; Leonard Waldhoff, Democrat, Banner; Rob Arnold, Republican, Watson 2; Billy G. Genaust, Republican, Watson 3; Linda C. Repking, Democrat, Watson 3; Daniel Niebrugge, Democrat, Douglas 1; Charles Phillip Lewis, Democrat, Douglas 2; Patty Russell, Republican, Douglas 3; Joshua Douthit, Republican, Douglas 4; Phil Toops, Republican, Douglas 6; Jim Niemann, Republican, Douglas 7; David J. Seiler, Democrat, Douglas 7; Gary West Sr., Republican, Douglas 8; Lisa Sudkamp, Republican, Douglas 9; David Campbell, Republican, Douglas 13; John P. Niemerg, Republican, Bishop; Audrey Griffith, Democrat, Bishop; and Thomas A. Vahling, Republican, St. Francis.