EJHS Musical

The cast and crew for the Effingham Junior High production of Sound of Music.

Effingham Junior High will bring the ever-familiar Sound of Music to the stage Thursday through Sunday, Nov. 2-5.

General admission tickets are $7 and available in the school office or at the door.

Performances on the 2nd through 4th begin at 7 p.m. with doors opening at 6:30. The performance on the 5th begins at 2 p.m. with doors opening at 1:30.

The Sound of Music is based on a true story. There really was a Maria von Trapp in Salzburg, Austria, who wanted to be a nun. The real Maria was sent to the home of Captain Georg von Trapp, where she grew to love him and his children.

In 1938, Nazi Germany annexed Austria. Opposed to Austria’s union with Germany, the family escaped into Switzerland.

The cast performs the popular Rodgers & Hammerstein’s classic with songs such as Do-Re-Mi, My Favorite Things, Climb Every Mountain, and Edelweiss.

The cast includes Ethan Bloom, Lilly Waymoth, Josie Waymoth, Charlie Ring, Kaleigh Mason, Aiden Hanks, Lilly Mathis, Gabbi Kreke, Kaci Jackson, Emilia Munoz, Veronika Mumma, Kaitlyn Parker, Evie Ballard, Lydia Kull, Krista Phillips, Julia Kinder, Mia Burry, Katelyn Larsen, Jada Parsley, Lydia Warner, Hallee Lewis, Anna Hirtzel, Desiree Koester, Edgar Castillo, Keegan Baker, Chase Kiefer, Brandon Duncan, Chris Grupe, Erik Sills, Kyle Thompson, Evan Zhao, Josue Vergel, Saul Ellis. Crew includes stage manager Teagan Rubin, Elijah Jones, Evan Weber, Isaac Ground, Tyler Nohren, Jack Dent, Skyler Brian, Sydney Kibler, Izzy Jorn, Zach Devore, Kalli Harden, Ashlyn Harmon, Madeline Kibler, Laney Gossett, Abbie Cochran, Lindy Kalber, Addison Holste, Jonah Sporleder, Raegan Dust, Kaydee Borton and Rylea Hodge.

The show is directed by Donna Walls, with assistant Jill Jones. Sound is coordinated by Tony Munoz, set construction coordinated by Glen Phillips, choreography by Ilenia Hails and vocal direction by Michael Lambton.